close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.
Free Property Alert Service: - Get notified via email whenever a document with your name is recorded in the County Clerk's O... read more

Mayor & Township Committee


Montague Township operates under a "Township" form of government, consisting of 5 members of a Township Committee, elected at-large for staggered 3-year terms. Elections are held annually. The Township Committee members also act as liaisons to the various departments of the municipal government. The Mayor is appointed to a 1-year term by the Committee Members at the Reorganization Meeting, which is held in January each year.  The Mayor, in addition to voting as a member of the Township Committee, presides over the meetings of the committee and carries out ceremonial duties.

Township Committee Meetings are open to the public and are held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 PM. (*Excluding June, July, and August, only one meeting will be held on the second Tuesday) Committee Meetings are held in the Township Meeting Room of the Municipal Building, located at 277 Clove Road, Montague, NJ 07827.